Author Topic: Osage long bow  (Read 9584 times)

Offline stickbender

Re: Osage long bow
« Reply #15 on: February 25, 2015, 10:47:53 am »

I am not a Bowyer, but if it is not too big, couldn't you just super glue, or epoxy that spot?  Of course a snake skin would be a natural "tuxedo" for that stave. ;)
                                    Wayne

Offline alwayslookin

« Reply #16 on: February 25, 2015, 12:13:20 pm »
I really don't know this is my first time working this yellow gold. So I don't know what kind of flaw or marks will make the back unsafe and what wont. I will post pics and hopefully the more knowledgeable guys can chime in.
In all your ways acknowledge  him and he will make your paths straight.

Offline Blaflair2

« Reply #17 on: February 25, 2015, 12:13:43 pm »
U could do a tread and super glue wrap if ur confident in the rest of the back. If not back it. I like the looks of some wraps. Do one on the other side to match for cosmetics.
Nothing ventured nothing gained

Offline Springbuck

« Reply #18 on: February 25, 2015, 02:57:53 pm »
  I'm with Pat.  A little correction with heat to line the tips up, THEN if you hate the twist, work on that. A few degrees at a couple places will have that thing wiggling straight.

Offline alwayslookin

« Reply #19 on: February 25, 2015, 09:16:51 pm »
Here's some pictures of the spots in the back that lifted some extra wood. Most are small gashes on the ring but one is pretty deep in my opinion the one by the hole.

Offline Parnell

« Reply #20 on: February 26, 2015, 09:36:09 am »