Author Topic: Re: Maple stave-Now it's blown!--what have we learned?  (Read 10773 times)

Offline dylanholderman

Re: Maple stave--some advice please
« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2015, 07:57:37 pm »
retaliative beginner here but i have made a few bows from maple, i think it should be fine. the knots worry me more than the dents do. just my 0.02cents   

Offline bushboy

Re: Maple stave--some advice please
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2015, 10:11:00 am »
It would be better if the knots were cut very squarely and the sharp edges rounded slightly.i now use caution when limbing with a chain saw not to cut the limbs to close to the trunk because a lot of times the branch will split deep into the back.i would try to clean up that knarly one with a file or something to try to get it a bit more uniform.good luck!
Some like motorboats,I like kayaks,some like guns,I like bows,but not the wheelie type.

Offline jeffp51

Re: Maple stave-not blown yet--some advice please
« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2015, 09:56:44 pm »
pulling 40# @ 16" with a just tight tillering string.  I am showing the tiller with the sides flipped in the last two pics. what do you think?  The limb is 2 inches wide at the fades, for what it is worth.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Re: Maple stave-not blown yet--some advice please
« Reply #18 on: February 08, 2015, 09:04:11 am »
Rigfht fade is ok for now, get the rest of the limb caught up to it. The left limb is much stiffer from fade to tip. Looks like it needs attention about 6-7" past the fade. Id get a very low brace on it myself. Lots of things change when you start pulling inward and downward.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline jeffp51

« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2015, 03:44:35 pm »