Author Topic: tillering question  (Read 2355 times)

Offline TimothyR

• PM110782
tillering question
« on: January 28, 2015, 03:34:21 am »
I just received my first cabinet scrapers.  I've never used them before and I have to say I dont know how I got along before them. Someone on here mentioned that they send lots of new bowyers tiller too close to the fades. And they are right. I have been working on several bows the most recent one I posted the other day was a hickory backed hickory and my tiller was too close to the fades.  I was working one an hickory backed ipe tonight and using the scraper I tillerd from the tips to the fades and it seemed to work very well. I have it bending good a little heavy at 40# at 20" on the long string. It needs a riser and then  its really for a low brace. My question is do you guys tiller tips to fades or does it really matter? Thanks for any advice. 
Freedom dies one compromise at a time. III%

Offline huisme

• I'm Marc, but not that Marc.
Re: tillering question
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2015, 03:44:17 am »
I tiller for the profile. If there's a point in the bow wider than the point you're at that wider point should bend proportionally more than the narrow point, meaning my bows bend right up to the tips unless they're molles. If you want stiff yips you make them narrow, shed weight while keeping strength.
50#@26"
Black locust. Black locust everywhere.
Mollegabets all day long.
Might as well make them short, save some wood to keep warm.

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2015, 03:46:57 am »
Your question is a bit ambiguous to me.
In terms of actual tillering, it's a matter of preference. I tend to get the middle just flexing and then work outwards.
In terms of actually working the wood, it's a matter of working it in which ever direction helps the tool get the best result.
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline TimothyR

• PM110782