Author Topic: Linen bow string material  (Read 12622 times)

Offline burchett.donald

Linen bow string material
« on: January 18, 2015, 07:18:24 am »
 I have been making and using linen bowstrings now for around 4 years and had a large supply of what was called 7ply Irish shoe linen...I'm thinking of ordering some and was wondering if anyone has a good source...The spools I have are not marked and cannot for the life of me remember the maker other than it was Irish and quite costly. I would like the highest quality I could find...
                                                                                                                        Don
Genesis 27:3 Now therefore take, I pray thee, thy weapons, thy quiver and thy bow, and go out to the field, and take me some venison;

Offline burchett.donald

Re: Linen bow string material
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2015, 07:40:22 am »
  This was my latest experiment from TBB volume 2, page 231...It's 8 strands but not continuous, actually it is 16 strands and after using hide glue on the extended serving you cut away 8 strands from one side. This allows 8 strands around the nock instead of 4 strands with the continuous string. You have slightly more weight from the longer serving but a stronger loop. I'll take the trade off...
                                                                                                                                      Don
Genesis 27:3 Now therefore take, I pray thee, thy weapons, thy quiver and thy bow, and go out to the field, and take me some venison;

Offline H Rhodes

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2015, 07:46:34 am »
That's a good looking string Don.  I have about enough left on an ancient spool for one more string  :(.   I don't know of a source just off hand.  Linen strings sure have a good feel.
Howard
Gautier, Mississippi

Offline burchett.donald

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2015, 07:49:03 am »
  I agree Howard, I like the low stretch, kind of natures fast flight ;)