Author Topic: Trilam question  (Read 5119 times)

Offline Gordon

Trilam question
« on: January 18, 2008, 09:42:21 pm »
When building a trilam bow I assume that you need to taper the powerlam. But how do you do that and still have an even surface to glue on the belly - in particular where the tapers come together at the handle? I'm sure the answer is obvious and I'm just being dense  :-[
Gordon

Offline Jesse

Re: Trilam question
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2008, 01:04:58 am »
I am no expert but on the one I made everything was tapered. The belly was the thickest to leave room for tillering. The power lam I tapered by eye on my belt sander. I used a thin piece and when it was done it was so flexible when you put the stretch clamps on it doesnt have a problem lying flat. I didnt have any sharp angles. A gradual taper to the tips and I didnt have any problem.   Someone who has built more will have better advice.
                                            Jesse
"If you can find a path with no obstacles, it probably doesn't lead anywhere."
    --Frank A. Clark

Offline Jbell

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2008, 04:43:29 am »
 Gordon, I have never made a tri-lam before(on my list) on my belly slats I taper about 1/8" for a r/d and a bit more than that for a recurve. My method may not be the best or the fastest but all I do is mark a spot an 1/8" on the end of the slat(bothsides) then with a long straight edge or sometimes with fineline tape I make a line all the way to where the fades will be. I do this by hand with a file then finish up with 80 grit on a longboard, just follow the line. The taper near the handle is so gradual that your glue lines will be just fine, no problems with my method so far. I would also taper the belly lam, that will give it a nice bend in your caul.
 My 1/8" is just an example, on a tri-lam you may wish to taper less than that, since you will have thinner slats.

Hope you find the answer you are looking for. ???
Justin Blunt

Offline Gordon