Author Topic: REALLY tiller on the edges?  (Read 17220 times)

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: REALLY tiller on the edges?
« Reply #15 on: December 06, 2014, 05:25:45 am »
The statement "The curvature will not change by narrowing the triangle" (by Asharrow) caught my eye.
I'm not sure I agree...
I'd already been considering this subject, indeed I've been pondering it for about 50 years.
There must surely be an optimum taper for a bow of even thickness to give the arc of circle curve. ( ? )
IMO this is self evident because if you take the taper to one extreme* e.g zero taper (parallel) we all know most of the bend is near the grip.
OR... maybe the whole thing is self compensating and the theoretical taper is always to zero tip width and the actual angle doesn't matter ...
It's one of those things I mean to try sometime as I have a load of polycarbonate sheet which could be cut out into nice trial shapes.
Del
Of course the real extreme is tapering the wrong way with tip wider than grip >:D
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline Jim Davis

• Reparrows
    • Reparrows
« Reply #16 on: December 06, 2014, 09:31:26 am »
I highly recommend Paul Klopsteg's review of this subject in Archery the Technical Side. Clarence Hickman looks at it too in the same book. Also, a look at the mechanical data for flat springs in Machinery's Handbook is revealing--and encouraging.

Jim Davis
Jim Davis

Kentucky--formerly Maine

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #17 on: December 06, 2014, 10:19:11 am »
Good observation, Del. In a pyramid bow the tiller should be rounded. That means the wider, near handle wood needs to do its share of the bending. Otherwise, set will be impacted.
Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline Del the cat

« Reply #18 on: December 06, 2014, 11:11:06 am »
Right let's design an experiment!
My polycarbonate sheet is 3mm thick.