Author Topic: Re questioning  (Read 1607 times)

Offline jayman448

Re questioning
« on: November 04, 2014, 04:26:39 am »
I asked this in a post and it was never answered:
there is a nice chute I found of ash, as I recall dead strait and clear as clear can be for maybe six feet. its real small though, maybe two inches across. is it worth it to cut er down? I hate chopping trees senselessly. will a very D backed sapling type bow out of ash be any good ? also what are suggestions on making sapling bows? how long to dry? do I do rough shaping right away? (I am a total noob to all this. ive only made one board bow) many thanks. Jay :)

Offline wizardgoat

Re: Re questioning
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2014, 04:33:51 am »
2" is big enough, I've only made a few sapling bows.
Cut it, seal the ends and leave for a week.
Leave the handle full width for now, and carve away the belly,
Exposing as much pith as possible, without getting to thin.
Re seal the ends, and seal your fades area going into your handle.
Strap it to a 2x4 and leave it for a few weeks. 
In these few weeks it'll lose a lot of moisture, and by keeping it
Strapped down it won't wander as much.
Keep track of it's weight, and when it hasn't lost any weight for
a week, finish the bow. There's other sapling build alongs on here
that explain the process pretty well

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2014, 09:20:38 am »
I think goat nailed it.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Springbuck

« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2014, 03:35:37 pm »
  I gotta put in a bit.  I make sapling bows like crazy, mostly elm, maple, plum, ash, and mulberry, and I have the best luck cutting and peeling the stave, and immediately roughing out the bow, or at least cutting the thickness down a bunch, then restraining it to dry.