Author Topic: Help picking first time wood. My first attempt failed  (Read 4305 times)

Offline Airborne890

Help picking first time wood. My first attempt failed
« on: November 03, 2014, 02:09:42 pm »
Im very new to making bows and have gathered scattered ideas from across a wide resource pool. I went out to home depot to buy a maple board.

I shaved and rasped and worked that board until both limbs bent evenly (or what I percieved as evenly). It was 1.5 inches wide in the limbs (tapering to .5 inch tips) and 1 inch in the handle, to which i glued a riser and reinforced that eith rawhide. After tillering I applied a rawhide backing.

I still have no clue how to make string but i managed to rig a string that was roughly 3 inches shorter than the length of the bow nock to nock. The bow snapped when i drew it roughly 30 inches.

I want to try again, this time ordering a stave online. Any suggestions for wood and bow styles?

Also, what was my main problem with the first bow? It splintered on the back (the rawhide held the back together well.
[[/img]

Offline JoJoDapyro

• Subscription Number PM109294
Re: Help picking first time wood. My first attempt failed
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 02:52:08 pm »
Did you slowly draw the bow (a few inches per pull, over a lot of pulls?), or right back to 30? I am not an expert by any means, but I am under the impression that you have to work the bow out to get to full draw. My advice would be to stick to boards for a bit. Make one unbacked that works and shoots first before trying to back it. If you can make one that shoots unbacked, you can make one backed. One has to crawl before he can run. I have finished 4 bows so far. 3 red oak boards (2 kids bows), and an osage stave.
If you always do what you always did you'll always get what you always got.
27 inch draw, right handed. Bow building and Knapping.

Offline wizardgoat

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2014, 03:03:15 pm »