Author Topic: When should I add rawhide backing?  (Read 2485 times)

Offline Blllkns

When should I add rawhide backing?
« on: November 03, 2014, 12:35:59 am »
Hi everyone this is my first time posting. I just broke my second try at a bow, I had it roughed out and had just finished steam bending the handle section to get every thing in line. I was in the process of floor tillering and it broke almost in two. I had planned on backing it with rawhide, and I am not sure if I had gone too far with the floor tillering or if I should have backed it before I started floor tillering. Some specifics on the bow, Cascara, Flat bow design, 58" NTN, I acquired the wood from vine maple bows. I seeking any advice you guys can give to help me for my third try at this. Does my design choice work for this type of wood? (thinking about trying osage or hickory really like a flat bow style) When should I apply my backing after roughing out or after floor tiller? 

Offline bubby

Re: When should I add rawhide backing?
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 02:04:10 am »
What draw length are you trying to get, and do you have any pics of the last try
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

mikekeswick

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2014, 02:27:05 am »
Simple - before it breaks!!!!
I'd do it once the width profile is roughed out. No point in waiting longer if you think it needs a backing. If you just remove the bark on a stave without touching the wood underneath it won't need backing.

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2014, 11:16:51 am »
If I am going to back I do so after long string tillering and before its first stringing with the short string.

If your stave broke while floor tillering there are other issues. That is... you forced it, it broke at a knot,etc.

Tough to say w/o pictures.

Check my site.
http://georgeandjoni.home.comcast.net/~georgeandjoni/index.html
Jawge