Author Topic: 'lil' Hickory  (Read 2152 times)

Offline Knoll

• Mikey
'lil' Hickory
« on: October 24, 2014, 07:03:19 pm »
Few months ago I began a hickory bow that was intended to be pyramid design, 68" ttt, 2 1/2" @ fades with goal being 50# at 26". 

While I am still new to this bow-building hobby, I was VERY new back then.  I thought myself to be clever to use tablesaw to get close to tapered limb thickness & rough shape fade taper.  Ya can likely guess how that turned out .... setup was not foolproof and I can be foolish.  In an instant I had plowed 1/2" wide channel across a limb that was about 1/8" tooooooo deep.  RUINED!  As reminder of my foolishness, I screwed it to front of the workbench.

Fast forward to a few weeks ago.  Enjoying morning coffee in shop and looking at that bow screwed to bench.  Hmmmmm.  If limbs were to be seriously piked maybe some kinda bow could be obtained.

Here's what I have.

It's just 51", ntn.  2 1/4" wide @ fades to 3/8" tips.  Pin nocks with the thinnest pins I've tried.  Stiff handle with sueded wrap and floppy arrow rest.

How's it look to ya?

« Last Edit: October 28, 2014, 07:49:16 pm by Knoll »
... alone in distant woods or fields, in unpretending sproutlands or pastures tracked by rabbits, even in a bleak and, to most, cheerless day .... .  I suppose that this value, in my case, is equivalent to what others get by churchgoing & prayer.  Hank Thoreau, 1857

Offline burchett.donald

Re: 'lil' Hickory
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2014, 07:58:36 pm »
Now that is bending some Hickory! It's just about indestructible wood. That string angle on them pins is real close :o...Nice looking bow ;)
                                                                                                                            Don
Genesis 27:3 Now therefore take, I pray thee, thy weapons, thy quiver and thy bow, and go out to the field, and take me some venison;

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2014, 07:59:56 pm »