Author Topic: 1st longbow attempt by Woblong  (Read 4117 times)

Offline Wobgnol

1st longbow attempt by Woblong
« on: October 16, 2014, 09:56:43 pm »
Using Files, rasps and a red oak board from Lowes. Spent about 4 1/2 to 5 hours working down this 1x3x8. I am pretty new to all this so I am open to any and all help!

Offline Wobgnol

Re: 1st longbow attempt by Woblong
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2014, 10:01:22 pm »
For some reason I can't upload any pictures. The attachment thing here just loads for a while then takes me to a refreshed "start new topic" page.

Offline bow101

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2014, 10:25:41 pm »
Your pic is to large.
"The privilege of a lifetime is being who you are."  Joseph Campbell

Offline Wobgnol

« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2014, 10:42:39 pm »
Thank you bow101

Offline huisme

• I'm Marc, but not that Marc.
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2014, 01:38:57 am »
Unless you're going for bendy your handle can be far more narrow. Most of my handles are within an inch wide.
50#@26"
Black locust. Black locust everywhere.
Mollegabets all day long.
Might as well make them short, save some wood to keep warm.

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2014, 06:25:48 am »
You've picked a great board! Perfectly straight grained. For a traditional bow, selecting decent wood is already half the battle.
The design you've chosen a very difficult design, especially for a beginner, but even for an experienced bowyer. This lay-out is called a Mollegabet and not a true longbow per se. It depends on the definitions though, as some people would call any bow where the string only touches the string grooves a longbow.