Author Topic: Help identifying bow  (Read 3717 times)

Offline Dragoness

Help identifying bow
« on: October 08, 2014, 04:10:57 pm »
Hi everybody. I'm fairly new to archery, and I found a bow at an antique store yesterday. They didn't even know what it was, and had it listed as a spear. They bought it at auction as part of a set of antique spears. It's one solid piece of bamboo, very dense and hard, and darker than I've seen before. It has no marking of any kind. I was trying to post this with pictures so I could get some feedback on what this actually is, but it didn't want to upload. I can add pictures later if anybody wants to take a look and see what they think.

Offline wizardgoat

Re: Help identifying bow
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2014, 04:17:51 pm »
Post pics!

Offline Dragoness

« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2014, 04:29:39 pm »
I found out the file size is too large. I'm going to try to make them smaller so I can upload them.

Ok so I cropped the first two. I think they"re small enough now. Working on the rest.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2014, 04:46:52 pm by Dragoness »

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2014, 04:41:12 pm »
640x480 is the size you want.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Joec123able

« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2014, 04:41:54 pm »
We need pics for sure
I like osage

Offline Dragoness

« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2014, 04:55:20 pm »
It is slightly curved toward one side, and from the nocks (shown in the third and fifth pictures) I believe that is the back. Is this correct? Is this really a reflexed bamboo self-bow?

Another concern I had is that there are vertical hair-line cracks in the other side. I believe it is the belly. (shown in the second picture) I am going to try to take a close up but the light isn't good and neither is my camera! :)

Offline Dragoness

« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2014, 05:13:47 pm »