Author Topic: white ash  (Read 2969 times)

Offline abrig005

white ash
« on: July 08, 2014, 07:45:11 pm »
Im new to bow making. I want to try making one from kiln dried white ash I can purchase locally.
I would like to find my own wood etc. But dont have time right now and don't want to wait for it to age.
Can I buy the white ash and cut into 2"x2"x7' blanks and start shaping? Do you think I would have good results
with this (obviously it depends how good I shape it). Thanks!

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
Re: white ash
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2014, 06:41:19 am »
White ash is very decent bow wood. Easy to find, pretty easy to work with and easy to read the grain on. Pretty cheap as well.
Yes, you can go buy a board and turn it into a bow! 2"x2"x6' is a good size. Bare minumum would be 1½" x ¾" x 68"  but ash likes to be wide and flat. If you can resaw the blank from a bigger board, I would aim for 2"x1½"x6' blanks.
It is absolutely crucial that you select the board yourself, and not rely on someone else to pick the board for you. You MUST select wood which is straight grained on all sides. The growth rings must run parallel to the sides of the board on all four surfaces. Expect 95% of the boards you see at a lumberyard to not be suitable. The number one beginners mistake is to try to make a bow from a piece of wood that is not straight grained. If the ash is not straight grained, look at the elm, (white) oak, maple and hickory as well.
"Sonuit contento nervus ab arcu."
Ovid, Metamorphoses VI-286

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2014, 09:30:21 am »
Id leave it 2 x 2. That way you don't have to glue another handle section on. Leave it one piece. Like DS said, grain, grain, grain. If its not straight tip to tip, leave it and find another. Its NOT good practice working junk wood. 
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline abrig005