Author Topic: Trying to reduce set in my bows....to no avail  (Read 8497 times)

Offline Sidewinder

Trying to reduce set in my bows....to no avail
« on: July 06, 2014, 08:04:55 pm »
I have been making bows now for about 8 yrs. They have gotten progressively better in a lot of ways. They balance well and have very good cast. People that see and shoot them seem to like them. I know I am happy with their performance. None are sluggish by any means. My biggest issue is I can not seem to make a bow with no set. I am wondering if its how I approach tiller. I see guys on here all the time and their stuff lays dead flat when unstrung. How do you guys do it is my question?
I wonder if I need to get the outer limbs bending more before I get it to brace and start pulling it on the tree. What is some of your input?    Danny
"You know a tree by the fruit it bears"   God

Offline burchett.donald

Re: Trying to reduce set in my bows....to no avail
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2014, 08:25:43 pm »
Danny, I induce reflex on a caul...Some of it usually stays...
                                                                                            Don
Genesis 27:3 Now therefore take, I pray thee, thy weapons, thy quiver and thy bow, and go out to the field, and take me some venison;

UserNameTaken

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2014, 08:26:02 pm »
Do a search (on the forum) for George Tsoukalas, and read the little blurb at the bottom of one of his posts. It will help put things in perspective.

Offline wizardgoat

« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2014, 08:36:17 pm »
I made a caul as well, and try to heat in 4" of reflex.
2-3" ends up staying, and you lose a couple of those inches in tillering.
Unless your stave has natural reflex, it's pretty hard to end up with no string follow if your stave is straight.
Build a caul, there's some info on how on here somewhere

Offline Fred Arnold

• From up on Munson Creek
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2014, 08:56:55 pm »