Author Topic: Thin early rings on Osage?  (Read 9114 times)

Offline BarredOwl

Thin early rings on Osage?
« on: July 05, 2014, 03:12:13 pm »
Most of the experienced guys will probably be thinking "so what's the problem" but here I go showing my inexperience. 

So, I had this osage log that I had cut and when I did the first split it had more twist to it than I had expected.  The log has the best early to late growth ratio  by far of anything I have to date. But I decided to let it lay there and worked on more promising looking stuff first.  After a month and a half of walking around it I grabbed the chainsaw and got ready to cut it up for campfire wood.  I looked at the growth rings again and decided I am new to this so I might as well split it out and try to learn for myself if the log really has too much twist.   So I split off what I thought would be the best stave and proceeded to try to remove the sapwood.  Right away I discovered that drier sapwood doesn't come off nearly as easy as week old sapwood.  Maybe someone can confirm this.  I think either completely wet or completely dry would work far better than somewhere in between sapwood.  It was like what I would imagine trying to cut the tread off a tire with a drawknife would be like.  Well anyways I got down to yellow wood on one end and was pretty much worn out so I tried several other techniques that we won't go into here and got the sapwood off.  I viloated several growth rings in doing so and started to try to chase a ring on one end and found out I could hardly tell when I cut into the early growth.  This piece is much different than any other osage I have worked on so far.  It just doesnt have that crunchy feel when I cut into the early wood and is an ultra thin layer compared to any other osage I have worked so far.  I can barley see the transition from early wood to late wood.  I suppose I will just have to go extra slow and am wondering if maybe also I am somewhere between real wet/green wood and s