Author Topic: Spare bowstring  (Read 2511 times)

Offline TRACY

Spare bowstring
« on: July 02, 2014, 08:01:41 am »
I've made a few strings lately and got to thinking about having a spare. I use to have one in my pack all the time and somewhere down the road I quit carrying one. I'm not sure why either. I watched a hunting show the other day where the hunter had equipment failure and no way to fix it in the field on a costly trip. Going to put a couple of spares labeled back into the backpack this year ;D

Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
Re: Spare bowstring
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2014, 09:32:31 am »
Very good idea,it can save a lot of trouble should you cut one or have one come apart. :)
 Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2014, 09:36:05 am »
Im a lucky dog myself. I started shooting glass bows in the early/mid 90's and it grew into what I do now. My point is I've been at this for a good while and have yet to cut or break a string, other than touching one with my scrapers edge!, oooops.....:) I never carry a spare. But that would change if I was away from home in the mountains or tundra. Id have 6 spares!
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2014, 09:56:20 am »
Be sure you pre-stretch that extra string. When I'm around home I don't worry about it but when off on a hunting trip I have an extra, pre-stretched string for each bow I bring. After shooting in the bow with a few hundred shots I make a new string and use the old one for my extra.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker