Author Topic: Howdy!  (Read 2678 times)

Offline SeanStuart

Howdy!
« on: June 13, 2014, 09:59:57 pm »
Hello I am an accountant, of all things, in Fayetteville, NC. I live in a nearby village. I am a novice archer, and a hobbyist woodworker.

I get grumpy when I don’t have something going on, so I stay pretty busy. I have had an interest in archery for some time, and when I search archery related topics, the PA site always seems to come up in the results, so I signed on.

I tried a Lowes hardware store red oak board bow and failed - my fault, but probably learned a whole lot more about bow building by failing than I would have if I had made a poor quality red oak board that had worked. Much thanks to those who commented.

I am going to the closest decent lumber yard tomorrow (Raleigh – Capital City Lumber) to try to find a few boards for bows, and some other projects. I am looking for White oak, or hard Maple, or possibly Hickory for bow boards. Wish me luck!

That’s all I got for now, enjoy your weekend!

-Sean

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Howdy!
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2014, 11:53:05 pm »
Breakin' is learnin'!

Welcome to the madness we all call primitive archery!
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2014, 11:56:59 pm »
Welcome Sean. Get busy and show us some bows.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2014, 12:10:05 am »
You live in NC ? Lots of good wood there instead of buying it, ask, Pat. You live in a village, like in a Hut or something? That's cool. :)
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline SeanStuart

« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2014, 12:31:11 am »
You live in NC ? Lots of good wood there instead of buying it, ask, Pat. You live in a village, like in a Hut or something? That's cool. :)