Author Topic: new to primitive archery need some tips  (Read 3115 times)

Offline Hillman87

new to primitive archery need some tips
« on: July 10, 2014, 01:06:25 am »
I'm new to using a recurve bow, I've hunted with a compound for 15+ years and any tips and tricks on technique, gear, and/or any help, I'm wanting to use my own handmade wood arrows.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: new to primitive archery need some tips
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2014, 09:31:33 am »
First, be sure all of your gear is compatible and that you are comfortable with every aspect of it. After that, practice, practice, practice and when you think you've practiced enough, practice more.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2014, 09:47:42 am »
What Pat said is great advice, it takes a while but you will get better with practice,work on your form,good anchor point [ same everytime]/clean release ,make sure the arrows are flying true  and then all it takes is some  time. :) Welcome to PA.  :)
 Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2014, 11:00:02 am »
Shoot for perfection of form before you ever start shooting for accuracy.  About the time you have your form down to an art, you arrows are going where you are looking anyway!

To really fine tune your shooting, take a similarly interested friend in the field with you and go stump shooting.  If that ain't enough fun, shoot a game of "H_O_R_S_E".  Same rules as the basketball game, just with arrows.  Pretty soon you are making up shots that require standing on one foot on a rock, leaning over to see around a tree, to shoot a pine cone off a branch.  Nothing sharpens the eye like a little competition!  Keeps things fun, too.
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.