Author Topic: 2nd attempt buckthorn bow, cross your fingers!  (Read 4970 times)

Eric Kol

2nd attempt buckthorn bow, cross your fingers!
« on: January 04, 2008, 01:57:33 pm »
ok guys,
I have decided to make a board bow. But that will wait untill I have to get to the lumber yard next time (I'm a carpenter so I generally get there pretty often). havn't decided on a wood species yet. I'll decide when I have some in my hand.

But, I did start to rough out another buckthorn log into a stave. The last one was short and gnarly. This one will be a 66" bow (69" stave), but still pretty gnarly.
I split and started to shape the log yesterday. No checks so far and I think I removed enough belly wood (heart wood) to hold that off. I am not sure how much sapwood to remove when I do debark, as I would like some of the distinct heart wood on the belly. I've got time though, needs to season for a while before I dare remove the bark.

I also am seriously tempted to back it with sinew. any suggestions from those of you who have worked with buckthorn? It might give me a chance perfect my tillering and not have the thing explode.

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Badger

Re: 2nd attempt buckthorn bow, cross your fingers!
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2008, 02:47:43 pm »
I saw no one responded here, possibly because few of us have any experience with buckthorn. Stave looks like a pretty nice stave. What ever I did I would keep it to one solid growth ring on the back. Not sure if buckthorn works best with a sapwood or heartwood back, sorry cant be of more help. Steve

Offline 1/2primitive

• Bible believing Christian
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2008, 03:31:46 pm »
Looks good, show us more progress when you get there.  :)
    Sean
Dallas/Fort Worth Tx.

Offline bootboy

• vinland longbows
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2008, 10:47:39 pm »
oh man you guys are awesome! Its Called Buckthorn!!