Author Topic: First HBO questions - Heat treat and dimensions.  (Read 1335 times)

Offline BL

First HBO questions - Heat treat and dimensions.
« on: May 08, 2014, 12:39:54 am »
I've starting in on a hickory-backed osage and am debating whether or not to heat treat the belly before glue-up.  Also, I'd appreciate people's thoughts on overall dimensions and backing thickness.  I have access to a thickness planer in the shop class at work but have read anything from less than 1/8" to 3/16" suggested for various woods.  This is my first time working with osage, and I'm really looking forward to it.  The guy at the mill I got the osage board from said he used to sell osage staves but ran out of business in the area years ago.  He pulled out a nice flat stave with the bark still on, about an inch thick and maybe 6" wide  that's been lying around for however many years, and gave it to me for 5 bucks.  Hopefully working with the lumber will get me some confidence to dig into the nicer piece.

Here's the current plan.
- Deflex-recurve profile, steam/heat bending the belly and backing lams into rough shape then adding overall limb reflex at glue up.  Aiming for 2-4" reflex overall after gluing and see what I can keep this time around.
- 60" overall length, about 8" deflexed stiff center with a 3/16" cherry powerlam.
- Width at 1.5" for first 6" of limbs then straight taper to 3/8".  (Boards are still currently at 2" wide full-length so I've got options here.)
- Target is 50-55# at 27", although I'll take opinions on this as well .  The person I'm building it for is currently shooting a 65#@26.5" compound and this is my best guess for where to place it.
- Rough osage thickness taper is currently 7/8" out to 1/2" at the ends.