Author Topic: Boiling the hickory recurve  (Read 2260 times)

Offline Academonicon

Boiling the hickory recurve
« on: June 29, 2014, 02:07:24 pm »
Really excited to say, I've finally gotten around to doing a boiled recurve!  I'm still a little nervous about the width of the hickory board I'm working with (1.5"), but I'm looking forward to continuing through this project.  I've never used hickory, I've never made a bow of these dimensions before, I've never done a boiled recurve (or any kind of recurve successfully, though I did fail at dry heat a couple times), and I've never done a working handle before,* so this is a very experimental project, and I'm already having a bunch of fun with it!

If all goes well, this is going to be the first half of a matched Christmas gift set for my sister and her ladyfriend - an absurdly great couple who will be yet more badass if they can go shooting together.

*I've got a cool idea for the working handle that I'm pretty excited about, but I'll post about that again when I get there.

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Boiling the hickory recurve
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2014, 03:05:00 pm »
Did you marinade before boiling?  Or did you season the stock instead?  Did it become tender?  I bet it's even better as left-overs...the best soups always are.    ::)

That is a seriously professional looking bending caul, looks also like you used a metal backing strip for the bend.  You've done this before, c'mon, 'fess up!  The recipients are blessed to have you as a brother.  Good on you!  Post pics as you go and make sure to show them with their bows...double full draw pic would be perfect!

Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2014, 03:14:54 pm »
Boiling or steaming is always best for  hickory. Looks like you've got a handle on the process now.