Author Topic: Aloha from Hawaii  (Read 3018 times)

Offline bordious

Aloha from Hawaii
« on: April 22, 2014, 04:37:42 pm »
Hello all, my name is Clint from Oahu.  I have been looking around the forums here for the last week or so, and decided to become a member.  I am currently in the process of shaping my first bow, a longbow out of strawberry guava.  I am very fortunate to have the help of my coworker, Manny, who seems to be pretty popular around these forums.  I've been curing my blank for the last 8 months, and Manny helped me with the rough outline which I just finished.  I'm about to go to his house to have him help me with the next step.  Thanks for having me, I look forward to everyones' input, help, and advice.

Offline Gsulfridge

Re: Aloha from Hawaii
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2014, 04:38:47 pm »
Welcome aboard!!  I must warn you, it is very addicting.
Greg Sulfridge, Lafollette, TN

Offline bordious

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2014, 04:45:00 pm »
I am actually going to go into the woods today to see if I can't find another good tree to fell, I just hate waiting for the drying process.  If I knew it was going to be so addicting, I would've cut a new one every 2 months or so.

Offline PAHunter

• "If your not having fun, what's the point?" - Khan
    • Victory Before Combat (My YouTube Page)
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2014, 04:48:37 pm »
Welcome to the party man!  Can't wait to see how it turns out!
Thanks,
Rob - Wexford, PA

"Give me six hours to chop down a tree and I will spend the first four sharpening the axe". - Abe Lincoln

Offline Crogacht

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2014, 04:58:58 pm »
Welcome, I'm just starting out too... but my elm sounds boring compared to strawberry guava, wow :D

Offline Lemos

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2014, 05:52:45 pm »
Welcome. You'll find many helpful folks here with lots I knowledge. I'll be in Maui on the 24th don't suppose you know what the rules and regs are concerning harvesting wood?

Offline criveraville

• Psalm 127:4