Author Topic: Oak??  (Read 1217 times)

Offline Blkbear234

Oak??
« on: April 14, 2014, 12:30:26 pm »
Good Monday morning to you all. I am a newbie here and to primitive archey snd bow building. I have a piece of found, well aged oak. 59 inches long and 2inches in diameter. Is oak suitable?? Of all the woods that I see people using, oak is not one wood that I see.
A bt of background. My daughter's boyfriends family issues challenges to each other. For fun and education. Currently there is race to abs, body fat reduction. Coming up is bow building. Thier family has srong Algonquin blood in the family and they want to explore that heritage. So Mom decided to try and build a bow. And everyone else is jumping on board. Great fun, education and family bonding. No compound bows and the bow actually has to shoot and hit a target. There is an entry fee and prize money. So if you pay the entry fee are you not going to build and let someone else take your hard earned money??! NO!!
Anyways, if you could weigh in on oak, I would appreciate the help.
Thanks

Offline BOWMAN53

Re: Oak??
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2014, 12:58:20 pm »
yup im working on a white oak bow right now for the trade.  do you know what kind of oak it is? do you have pictures?

Offline Bogaman

• steve white
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2014, 03:37:00 pm »
Oak is about in the middle of my list of decent bow woods. I have made about 6 oak bows, all from staves. Design, moisture and tiller are key to a good shooting oak bow. Many of our ancestors lived off oak bows. Some of my friends say have had good luck with oak board bows.

Offline redboard

« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2014, 03:51:59 pm »
I think that 59" might be pretty short for oak. I'd try to find something longer or wider if you're gonna go with that wood.

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2014, 05:09:54 pm »
White oak is a very good bow wood. I'd rate red oak a little below it.