Author Topic: holy smokes...you guys are awesome! Flatbow question  (Read 3319 times)

Offline redboard

holy smokes...you guys are awesome! Flatbow question
« on: April 10, 2014, 12:48:39 pm »
Hello to all of you amazing people!

I'm new to all of this and have 2 RO board bows under my belt. First one lasted 150 shots, the second lasted about 300! I'm hoping this next one will go for 1000!
 I've chosen a true flatbow design from a screamin good rift-sawn 1x2, of which 71" of it have zero grain runout! Riser will be 8" total with a 5" handle and 1.5" fades. I'm going to glue up an oak handle after tillering. That leaves me with a limb of 31.5 inches. Here's where it gets tricky for me. I started the taper at 19.5" from the fade from the full 1.5" to 3/8" at the tip. None of this is actually cut you, I'm just getting the rough layout.

My questions are these:
Are the tips too narrow?
Should the thickness be tapered or static?

my last bow was a half pyramid/flatbow hybrid with thickness tapered limbs and flipped tips. I really like the way it shot, but the toasted belly overpowered the back, and the Cedar riser was too weak...I know, Cedar was a bad choice.

I checked out the rough profile  chart that someone put up, and if I understand correctly, the thickness taper starts from the fade to where your width taper starts, then back up slightly to the tips, making the tips a touch stiffer than the working limb.

Any and all advice is more than welcome!

Cheers

Offline Blaflair2

Re: holy smokes...you guys are awesome! Flatbow question
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2014, 01:00:31 pm »
U need to glue the handle on before tillering. If it bends at all it will pop off. So usually the glue on block doesn't go into the limb past the fades. Part of the fade taper into the handle has to be the limb wood.
Nothing ventured nothing gained

Offline Josh B

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2014, 01:04:19 pm »