Author Topic: The part you dislike the most!  (Read 6608 times)

Offline lebhuntfish

• If the wood will bend, I'll make it beautiful!
The part you dislike the most!
« on: March 31, 2014, 08:02:17 pm »
Ok so I have a question. I have read a lot on here about everything from splitting a stave to final tiller and the finished bow. I have read that certain parts of bow making is your favorite part. My question is, What is the part or process that you dread doing the most while in the building process? What is the most likely part in the process that you will stop and come back to later?

I find myself dreading the initial removal of the belly area after the roughing out of the shape, the part where I get it to floor tiller, myself.  Especially on a static tip bow where your only bending part of the limb. I guess it's because in makes me nervous about messing it up. I'm still pretty new to this.
Once an Eagle Scout, always an Eagle Scout!

Missouri, where all the best wood is! Well maybe not the straightest!

Building a bow has been the most rewarding, peaceful, and frustrating things I have ever made with my own two hands!

Offline Badger

Re: The part you dislike the most!
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2014, 08:11:41 pm »
   I enjoy the whole process until I get to the finish, once I shoot the bow in I tend to loose interest in it. Removing the belly wood is one of my favotite most relaxing aspects to the job.

Offline mwosborn

• Mitch Osborn
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2014, 08:34:20 pm »
I would agree with Badger - Once I start shooting it I get interested in the next one.  I have several that are ready for "finish" that are hanging on the wall...waiting!
Enjoy the hunt!  Mitch

Offline adb

« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2014, 08:39:59 pm »
The hardest part? Giving them up! :(

Offline bushboy

« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2014, 08:46:33 pm »
Sanding and tip overlays ,also removing the cabruim on a seasoned hhb stave! Oh yay getting set in the wrong places!