Author Topic: shooting tabs  (Read 5255 times)

Offline carpenter374

shooting tabs
« on: December 24, 2007, 05:03:21 pm »
Hey guys/gals. this is my first post on this page. i have been working on learning to make bows, arrows, etc for about two years now. i have successfully managed to finish two bows of hickory. anyway, I was wondering what advice some of you may have about shooting tabs, gloves, etc for three finger draw shooting. I can draw up to 50/55 without a tab but my latest bow is 65. it messes with my concentration to feel the string digging in at that weight. i made a tab out of a piece of leather but it doesn't give me a very clean release. thanks in advance.
"Those who would sacrifice their freedom for safety will find that they will inherit neither." -Ben Franklin     

--Carpenter

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: shooting tabs
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2007, 05:13:57 pm »
   I use a Damascus shooting glove.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Kegan

« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2007, 06:40:43 pm »
I know exactly what you're going though :)! I usually just let my fingers heel for a day, shooting only a short time (say 30 minutes) a day. After a week or two my hands should be better. Though, I have been looking at those shooting gloves with the three stalls on a wrist strap, they look pretty sweet :)

Minuteman

« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2007, 06:46:53 pm »
Get you some cow skin leather with the hair on and make a tab out of it.
  Anyone thats shot much with nothing on their hands will prolly tell you if they are honest that they shoot better with a tab or glove. It allows you to have a smoother release. Allows the shooting to be more pleasurable as well.

Offline FlintWalker

« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2007, 07:02:35 pm »