Author Topic: Elm Stave  (Read 9283 times)

Offline Richard B

Re: Elm Stave
« Reply #15 on: June 03, 2014, 02:38:32 pm »

Not sure what sort of elm it is. The draw weight I achieved with the miniature bow suggested similar properties to English elm, but its all fairly approximate with am 18" long bow. The stave was big enough for me to cut enough for the bow, a miniature and enough left over to make up one of the test pieces describes in TBB vol 1. Haven't got round to this but should be able to estimate the strength of the wood, density etc which might help me identify it (there I go, on about numbers again!). Should really do this before proceeding with the tillering, I guess as it would give a better idea of what draw weight I should be able to safely achieve before I go and break it. I am brand new to this and so don't have the experience to be able to look at a stave and assess its strength (also I'm a geeky engineer and like doing sums!)
My most time consuming hobby is building model boats, again with lots of numbers. Have a look at my website and you will see what I mean!
http://richardsmodelboats.webs.com/

Offline Sidmand

« Reply #16 on: June 03, 2014, 03:32:14 pm »
Richard, send me a PM with your address (if your stateside) and I will send you some B55 or B500 to make you a string.
"Criticism is something we can avoid easily by saying nothing, doing nothing, and being nothing." --> Aristotle

Offline Richard B

« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2014, 03:52:47 pm »
Sidmand,
Unfortunately, I'm in the UK, but I think I can buy some locally. Many thanks for the kind offer though.

Offline zenart

« Reply #18 on: June 04, 2014, 07:32:32 am »