Author Topic: board bows  (Read 6074 times)

Offline sailordad

board bows
« on: December 27, 2007, 12:03:45 am »
Hi everybody,
as you all probably will be able to tell by my question(s),I am very new to bow building.I recently joined PA and have been doing a lot of reading on the site,and from what I can tell there are a lot of very knowledgeable  people here.Which i will really appreciate being a newbie and all.
With all the reading I've been doing,I've seen some mention of  BOARD BOWS. I was just wondering how differant these are than bows built from staves,and how does the building process differ?What should one look for when choosing a board(i assume that the term board bow,means you started with a board).What kind of wood to use?Should the board be kiln dried or not?You know the kind of stuff a newbie needs to get started off on the right foot.

Just a little background on my self:
working bows built-none
attempts at building a bow-two,one busted  :(,second one in progress ;D
years into archery-too many,but less than one as traditionalist,even less as a primitive/bowyer :P
well thats about it,but in case anyone cares I'm from the great(frozen)state of Minnesota were the winters are cold but the hunting is hot.

thanks for any and all help. :)
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
Re: board bows
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2007, 12:11:58 am »
Noting wrong with board bows. Info on my site. Jawge
http://mysite.verizon.net/georgeandjoni/archer.html
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2007, 12:17:08 am »