Author Topic: Short bows and the mythical floating anchor. Tips, tricks and methods.  (Read 9793 times)

Offline IndianGuy

Guys everytime I post a picture of a short bow I get questions about how to anchor. I had a little time this morning and though I would add a post here and give some of the ways I shoot these shorties.
This information is pertaining to Native American short bows often called Plains bows or Horse bows.

I have been making and shooting short bows since 1984 and have found that no matter how long you practice or how many arrows you shoot you can never get a consistant group without some kind of anchor. You can have a floating anchor and shoot accurately but only at very close yardages. I always see people on here and other sites drawing short bows with their arm bent downward at the elbow, neck pushed forward like a strutting Tom and trying to draw the bow to their eye. Now not only is this awkward it messes up your form when trying to shoot a longer bow. That is just not the way these bows are meant to be used.
Learning to shoot a short bow with a short draw is just learning another method of shooting, your long bow techniques won't work well when you use the short bow. Now if you learn the proper techniques you should be able to shoot your short bow and transition to your long one without any hickups in your shooting accuracy.

The Indian draw method is much different than the European and even the finger grip on the string was much different many using a pinch or augmented pinch grip, Very few used the three finger method most of us use today called the Mediterranean grip.