Author Topic: Osage 2x4's Question. (pic heavy)  (Read 2389 times)

Offline Bearded Mountain Man

• Waxhaw Survival Ware
Osage 2x4's Question. (pic heavy)
« on: March 03, 2014, 06:04:54 pm »
Okay so about 2 years ago I was given these Osage 2x4's. (The one on the left is 75 1/2" and the one on the right is 76 3/4".) They were seasoned for about 3 years before I got them. They have some wind shakes and bug holes, but seem like someone could still use them to make bows out of. I am not experienced at all in bow making yet, and I am wondering if you experienced bowyers had any insight on how difficult it would be to actually turn these into something shootable. I am thinking about posting them on the Trading Post, but again I don't know if they are even usable. Any insight would be appreciated. As I took the pictures I rotated them to the right. Hopefully you can get a good idea of what shape they are in.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2014, 06:45:23 pm by Bearded Mountan Man »
"As if you could kill time without injuring eternity" -Henry David Thoreau

• Waxhaw Survival Ware
Re: Osage 2x4's Question. (pic heavy)
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2014, 06:06:33 pm »
here are a few more.

• Waxhaw Survival Ware
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2014, 06:07:22 pm »
and the ends.

Offline Blaflair2

« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2014, 06:09:14 pm »
The larger one u may be able to chase a ring on
Nothing ventured nothing gained

Offline Dean Marlow

« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2014, 06:51:03 pm »
It is tough to see how the grain runs on those type of boards. If you can try and chase a ring on them and then you should be able to see how the grain runs on them. Might be something you could back with something also. Bamboo ect.

Offline adb

« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2014, 07:27:07 pm »