Author Topic: New Bowbuilder!  (Read 2741 times)

Offline Ross.m.

New Bowbuilder!
« on: February 20, 2014, 08:16:41 pm »
I'm new to bow making and have not made a bow yet, but I am very interested and have researched a lot about the process. If any of you have any general tips, that would be great.

I live in toledo OH and I have yet to find any Osage growing anywhere around here. There are tons of shag-bark hickories around, so I will use one of those. I have a really nice hickory picked out, but it might be a bit large. Is it too big if I can't fit my hands around it?

Lastly, I want to know more about good quick drying methods, because I want to get to work as soon as possible.  Thanks for the help!

Offline adb

Re: New Bowbuilder!
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2014, 08:31:12 pm »
Get your hands on the Traditional Bowyers Bibles Vols 1-4. Covers everything. Welcome!

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2014, 08:37:11 pm »
Welcome to PA and the exciting world of wood bows.   8)  Check out George(Jawge) Tsoukalas' site at the top of the "How To" page.
Just join in and ask questions. You have access to some of the best wood bowyers in the world and they are all willing to share their knowledge. 
« Last Edit: February 21, 2014, 12:19:04 am by Pat B »
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Ross.m.

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2014, 08:47:36 pm »
Thanks, pat. My two biggest questions now are about quick drying and the specifics with shag bark hickory

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2014, 10:12:02 pm »
Welcome top bedlam, Ross. 

Quick drying and hickory are not necessarily in the same universe.  Hickory is a very hydrophilic wood and it hates to part with it!  That being said, never let caution or good sense get in your way.  It sounds as if that tree you are looking at should be shaking in his roots.