Author Topic: Confused, somewhat miffed  (Read 2765 times)

Offline SamIAm

Confused, somewhat miffed
« on: January 18, 2014, 11:30:43 am »
I'm still a beginner in this craft, made a couple of bows, made a few arrows but still learning; lots to learn.  But here's something that I'm either very confused about or some "expert" has gotten it completely wrong.  I'm studying the process of arrow making and reading all I can about making matched arrows and proper spining.  In volume 3 of the TBB, page 230, the author states in describing a drawing "A) the arrow hasn't enought spine, or is too limber, and shoots left.  B) the arrow has too much spine, or is too stiff, and shoots right."  Excuse my french but that is ass-backwards to several other articles that I have read and contrary to common sense.  If the arrow is too stiff, it will shoot left because it can't bend around the handle.  We're talking right hand shooters here.  I know there are different ways of looking at things and I'm hesitant at being too critical.  Tell me where I'm wrong.  :(
"To thine own self be true,
And it must follow, as the night the day,
Thou canst not then be false to any man."

Offline PrimitiveTim

Re: Confused, somewhat miffed
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2014, 12:03:56 pm »
Maybe they shoot right handed with the arrow on the right side of the bow.  Yeah seems weird.
Florida to Kwajalein to Turkey and back in Florida again.  Good to be home but man was that an adventure!

Offline Mike_H

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2014, 12:23:09 pm »
Just looked it up.  The diagram as the arrow in the left side of the bow, not the right.  Could be a misprint that hasn't been caught.  I've seen that a lot in some books.

Offline lostarrow

« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2014, 12:25:46 pm »
Your thinking is correct. Must be a misprint ,or a left handed shooter

Offline Mike_H

« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2014, 12:45:51 pm »
Your thinking is correct. Must be a misprint ,or a left handed shooter