Author Topic: First hophornbeam bow  (Read 12477 times)

Offline H Rhodes

First hophornbeam bow
« on: January 18, 2014, 10:07:37 pm »
I haven't posted one in a while, so here goes.  This is my first attempt at eastern hophornbeam, which is sort of a rare bow wood in my neck of the woods.  I split this stave from a eight inch diameter tree that I cut down last year.  I split this stave and roughed out the outline when it was pretty green, so I painted the back and ends with some old left over grey paint to keep it from checking.  This proved to be a mistake, since it stuck in the little grooves and valleys in the back of the bow.  I started to try and sand it all off, but then started to like the textured look of it.  I ended up staining over the remnants of painted areas and ended up with a pretty cool camo effect.   
  The bow is 66" tip to tip and 1 1/4" wide at the fades tapering to 1/2" tips.  I wanted to get to know the properties of HHB on this first attempt, so I didn't heat treat it.  I did steam a slight flip to the tips long before tillering the bow, but it hasn't seen a caul.  I didn't use scales or a tillering tree this time and tillered strictly by eye and feel.  I am truly impressed with hophornbeam as a bow wood.  I see why all you guys from further north are so impressed with it.  This bow came in in the mid forties and will cast a 600 grain arrow around a 150 yards.  It is accurate, sweet on release, and took very little set.  This stave had a big knot near the handle, which worried me at first.  No problems through a couple hundred shots.  HHB or ironwood is definately my number two bow wood and will rival osage in how narrow a stave can be for a hunting weight bow.  I am liking this one.     
Howard
Gautier, Mississippi

Offline H Rhodes

Re: First hophornbeam bow
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2014, 10:10:10 pm »
A couple more pics...
« Last Edit: January 18, 2014, 11:44:41 pm by hrhodes »
Howard
Gautier, Mississippi

Offline Danzn Bar