Author Topic: My favorite so far (caul pics pg 5)  (Read 15652 times)

Offline dwardo

Re: My favorite so far
« Reply #45 on: January 13, 2014, 08:19:27 am »
Very nice chief !  8) Looks screaming fast.

The weight is also perfect. All the bows I have made recently are way to heavy and quickly a chore.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #46 on: January 13, 2014, 08:31:06 am »
Thanks again everybody! Its a pleasant bow to shoot. I favored 55-60#bows since I started shooting traditional glass bows in the mid 90"s. But,  after making a few low 40# and up bows, I think I like it! Its easy to shoot 40-50 arrows and not feel a thing, or have bad habits creep in after 15-20 shots. I skinnied these tips right up to aid in the "lower" weight and made a skinny(ish) string for it.

By the way, the shelf area is 2" deep, if anybody wondered.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline seminolewind

« Reply #47 on: January 13, 2014, 09:04:27 am »
That is a real beauty ! I really like it and hope one day I will be at this skill level too ! Did you cut the laminations from your own cured wood or did they come from boards ?

Keep it up its an inspiration !
"Those that beat their swords into plowshares will plow for those who do not." Thomas Jefferson

Elijah,
Tampa, FL.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #48 on: January 13, 2014, 09:15:06 am »
Thanks seminolewind! I was given the mesquite by a glass bowyer and the hickory was left over ends from 72" backers I made. Its actually quite easy. Just glue it all together and shape it as one piece.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline seminolewind

« Reply #49 on: January 13, 2014, 09:18:01 am »