Author Topic: Burning arrows?  (Read 4949 times)

Offline jojo

Burning arrows?
« on: February 01, 2014, 01:34:05 pm »
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to making my own bows and arrows. I saw someone put what looked like burn marks on the shaft to camo the arrow. Has anyone tried this or is there a link to a buildalong you guys know of.

It seems to me that burning the shaft may temper it and change its spine if done too much. What are your thoughts?

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Burning arrows?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2014, 01:50:06 pm »
I use this method for camo in my cane and hardwood shoot arrows. It does temper the shaft and that helps to keep them straight. I never check spine on cane and hardwood shafts except to fine the stiff side which goes against the bow.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline jojo

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2014, 10:27:15 pm »
how do you go about burning the shaft? do you use a propane torch or a candle of some sort. I saw some pictures of arrows that look burnt but I did not know how they accomplish this. I was just guessing they used a propane torch for a few seconds.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2014, 12:10:01 am »
I use our kitchen gas stove for straightening shafts. After I straighten one I will start at one end of the shaft and begin heating while rotating the shaft. Now is when I add the color and temper the shaft. As I move down the shaft heating and rotating I heat some areas until it chars then move on. Work like this all the way to the other end. Be careful of steam coming out the other end as you get near. Once the shaft is done lay it flat to cool completely before messing with it. If a crook appears as you are heating straighten after tempering but before it cools then lay it flat.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Bryce

• Global Moderator