Author Topic: Fish tailing arrows  (Read 2000 times)

Offline Tiredtim

Fish tailing arrows
« on: January 04, 2014, 07:33:27 pm »
I really don't know where to post this so I'm going to start here.  I have built a hickory selfbow, not backed and it pulls around #55 at 26 inches.  My arrows are fish tailing a bit.  Any ideas why?  My arrows are spined for 50-55#'s.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Danzn Bar

Re: Fish tailing arrows
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2014, 07:48:36 pm »
Tired,
Fished tailing is a result of either a arrow spine issue or it could be a release issue.  Probably a spine issue, with out any other information I would guess it is too stiff of a arrow shaft.  If it is your first bow and arrow combination, yes I would say too stiff,  When I started most of my problem was with stiff arrow shafts, and I have been doing this for about three or four years and for some reason stiff arrows are still an issue with me.  I think I'm pulling more than I really am.   :-[  :)
DBar 
Integrity is doing the right thing when no one is looking

Offline Fred Arnold

• From up on Munson Creek
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2014, 08:53:33 pm »
It could be a spine problem and also could be a release or nock height problem. I've had arrows do some amazing stunts if the nock height was either too high or too low on the string. Also had problems when the arrow nock was too tight on the serving.
I found many years ago that it is much easier and more rewarding working with those that don't know anything than those that know it all.

Offline aaron

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2014, 09:30:32 pm »
2 questions:
what weight point are you using?
how wide is your handle and how is your string alignment along the handle?
arrows spined 55 will not necesarily be right for a 55 lb bow, depending on the above factors.
Ilwaco, Washington, USA
"Good wood makes great bows, but bad wood makes great bowyers"

Offline Tiredtim

« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2014, 09:41:12 pm »