Author Topic: Cleaning Your Muzzle Loader?  (Read 12587 times)

Offline bowtarist

• Primitive Archer Subscription Number PM103651
Cleaning Your Muzzle Loader?
« on: December 12, 2013, 03:40:11 pm »
After reading Pearly's post over and over...5 pages so far, Cleaning of the muzzle loader has come up. I have been shooting black powder since I was 14 years old in the mid-eighties and have always cleaned it the way I was taught back then. Never really been around any one else cleaning theirs too much so I was wondering how you all go about it?

Here's what I do. If in the field between shots I run a patch or two of powder solvent down the barrel and keep shooting, but when the day is through, I again run a patch or two of solvent down the barrel, then remove barrel, (I have used a small rubber hose hooked to the nipple too, but only on one gun that has several pins holding the barrel on, a Dixie Mountain Rifle) remove the nipple, sorry flinters, and submerge the butt end of barrel in boiling water and start running jag and patch up and down and changing patches til they run clean. Then I remove from water, dry off the hot barrel and run a couple patches of WD40 down there. I usually use the back of the last WD40 patch to wipe the gun barrel down, shoot a squirt of WD40 into the hole the nipple screws into and let it cool then return it to the stock. Before I load it again I'll pop a cap, then go ahead and load it.  I ain't had a miss fire for a long time, but that's another story why that used to happen to me.

Wondering how some of you all clean your black powder rifles?

Thanks, dpgratz   
(:::.)    Osage music played daily. :)

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Cleaning Your Muzzle Loader?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2013, 04:29:20 pm »