Author Topic: New guy with some materials to make my first bow  (Read 2042 times)

Offline CritterPreserver

New guy with some materials to make my first bow
« on: December 11, 2013, 12:08:34 am »
Hi everyone, I got to say I really like this forum, really strong good hearted community on here. Let me just say I have many other community forums not per say bowmaking but still a forum setup that i'm involved with and this one really has there stuff figured out. I've been reading a lot of the threads on here the last few days kind of at random since I'm new to this bow making but not to woodworking Ive built many different small projects and have plenty of tools too so equipment wise im prepared just not to knowledgeable with the design factor and some of these interesting techniques you bowers posess, like some of the threads ive read about such as backing materials, which I say you guys use almost everything under the sun to back bows, one thread I read said something about using bull penis tendon for backing on a bow... if I may just put my two cents in, I completly support multi-tasking but come on guys thats a baseball game fully equiped and then throwing in hey you know what lets build a bow. Which no offense  to the experimentive minds out there but Id rather not on my part haha ;D all the more power to you guys! lol. Im guessing those who want to know a bit more about these materials I have for my first bow build are exaclty since thats a part of the subject of this thread so Ill get on with that, right now I just ordered some ea-40 laminating epoxy, some maple, cherry, and some left over dark walnut that should be sufficant for a riser/grip on the bow that I make, it was going to be a gun stock I was making but the project went dead after I decided not to make it, so lets just say I have a fine looking piece of wood just waiting to be used... haha, girls dont get excited. Many of you guys may be wondering what kind of bow I hope to make and its most likely goi