Author Topic: Newbie here, question about bow 'lingo'.  (Read 3963 times)

Offline Luvdiscgolf

Newbie here, question about bow 'lingo'.
« on: February 16, 2014, 11:01:47 pm »
Greetings all, I just came across my first Primitive Archer magazine and think I am hooked!  I used to think I knew at least a little bit about archery, owning both a compound bow and a longbow, but am overwhelmed with this whole new 'world' of primitive archery that seems have developed.  Just a few months ago, my daughter showed interest in Archery, saved her own dollars and we found a nice 'Lil Brave 2 bow set to get her started; she loves it!  Naturally, I had to dust off my compound bow and also my 50-lb. draw PSE longbow.  Wow, am I out of shape!  I've tried shooting a few times, but find that my back, shoulders and neck don't seem too happy if I do much more shooting than, maybe 20 arrows or so; I think it goes back to when I injured my lower back a few years ago and have never been quite the same since.

Anyway, it looks like I am rambling a bit here.  I am thinking about trying to locate a bow with 40-lb. draw weight or so to see if that would be easier for me to get back into the practice of shooting.  After seeing all the articles about people crafting bows, I am interested in possibly having someone make a bow for me.

So here is my question.  I am a HUGE Lord of the Rings fan, both the books and the movies, and am wondering how you would describe, in your traditional bow-crafting 'lingo' the bows that the Riders of Rohan use?  If I am going to get a new bow, it might be fun to get something with a unique style to it.  :)  To my uneducated eye, it looks like it would be more of a shortbow with maybe a slight recurve at the tips, and most definitely would be shorter than my 70" longbow.

Thank you!

Offline 4dog

Re: Newbie here, question about bow 'lingo'.
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2014, 11:07:27 pm »