Author Topic: Shotgun question.  (Read 1464 times)

Offline Parnell

Shotgun question.
« on: December 09, 2013, 09:39:36 am »
So I went shooting this weekend with my buddy.  We hit the range first and I got my rifle dialed in real good.  Afterwards we hit a place next to the county range and went sport clay shooting.  I've never done sport clays before, man what a GREAT time!

So, I put probably 50 target loads through the shotgun.  Rules stated no more than 2 shells loaded at one time.  So I was trying to shoot some doubles with these target loads and the shells weren't ejecting properly.  The shells were 2 3/4".  The shotgun is in great condition, basically new and has been treated really well.

Is it typical for target loads to not eject completely?  I had no problem shooting slugs. 
1’—>1’

Offline Eric Krewson

Re: Shotgun question.
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2013, 09:48:37 am »
I bought 3 cases of target loads from a high school trap team, couldn't beat the price. The guy I bought them from said I may have trouble with ejection in my simi auto as they were lower powered than standard field loads. All the kids seem to shoot over and unders in the club.

Offline Parnell

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2013, 09:55:29 am »
That's what I've been figuring Eric, that the charge just isn't strong enough for full ejection. 
1’—>1’

Offline RidgeRunner

« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2013, 10:02:18 am »
Some autoloading shotguns have built in adjustments.  Cant say that I know which is which.
Most autoloaders allow the spring to be replaced so that they will shoot lighter loads.

Just a couple of ideas.  You need a real shotgun expert.

David

David Key / N.W. Alabama

Offline killir duck

• i like elk
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2013, 10:05:15 am »
i've never had a problem with mine but I know a couple buddies have had the same problem, I think they decided it was just lack of power.