Author Topic: beginner bows  (Read 3532 times)

Offline NCKCRDN

beginner bows
« on: November 27, 2013, 09:23:06 pm »
Hello, i am new here and was wondering which would be a good bow to start with ?I would like to do a English warbow /longbow ?

Offline aaron

Re: beginner bows
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2013, 09:53:20 pm »
what woods do you have growing in your area?
What is your archery experience?
An english longbow design might be a good place to start, but a warbow is too hard to pull back if you are a beginner. Choose a draw weight you can comfortably draw and hold for two seconds.
Ilwaco, Washington, USA
"Good wood makes great bows, but bad wood makes great bowyers"

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2013, 10:08:37 am »
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline adb

« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2013, 10:12:54 am »
Very broad question. Kinda like... I'm a new driver, what kind of car should I get? It would be helpful if you decided what you want to do with the bow (hunting, taget shooting, flight shooting, etc.) and then go from there. Next, try and discover what wood you have access to and then do some research. Get your hands on and read the Trad Bowyer's Bibles, Vols 1-4. Will likely answer most of your questions.

An English warbow is NOT a good place to start! Advanced stuff.

Offline VicNova

« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2013, 10:35:58 am »
This is what got me started
 http://poorfolkbows.com/oak.htm
Ypsilanti,  Michigan

Offline Jacob Parnell

« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2013, 10:47:38 am »
My first bow was a red oak board bow.  Here are some detailed instructions to help you. 
http://poorfolkbows.com/oak.htm
Red oaks are fairly easy and cheap to make, and come out very good, if done properly.  Once you've made one or two of the board bows, you can move on to a more primitive self bow.  That's my plan.

Good Luck!
                Jacob
.   (
     \
      )
-)))-------->
      )