Author Topic: Spiral Grain - How much is too much?  (Read 8909 times)

Offline Crogacht

Spiral Grain - How much is too much?
« on: November 24, 2013, 06:41:06 pm »
Hi all,

I'm just starting out, and I have split a few logs, but have encountered a bit of spiral grain.

One log which I know is a write-off has 180 degrees of spiral over 2 metres  :o, so that one has been set aside for firewood.

I have another log which has a mild spiral in it. So my question is, how much spiral is too much? Do I need to be searching for very straight grained wood?

I know wavy grain/knots/pins etc can be worked around in most cases, but spiral grain seems like a big problem.

Any help would be great,

Thanks,

Ben

Offline aaron

Re: Spiral Grain - How much is too much?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2013, 10:00:39 pm »
I think even a little spiral is too much, especially for a beginner. What species are you working with? I recently brought home what I thought was one of the best vine maple staves i ever saw only to discover it was the only VM i ever cut with spiral grain. Most species, you can tell by the bark, but not with VM
Ilwaco, Washington, USA
"Good wood makes great bows, but bad wood makes great bowyers"

Offline Crogacht

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2013, 10:39:23 pm »
Thanks for the reply :)

Well, I'm actually in New Zealand, it's a beautiful place, but there are very few people making bows here.

I'm basically looking at the mechanical properties of a wood and trying to target certain species with a little advice from the few other bowyers I know and then going from there.

Most nz natives have mottled or patchy bark, so it's hard to tell what the grain is doing a lot of the time, but I have learnt to look at the shape of the trunk now. Many natives form buttresses and even on young trees the ridges and raised parts on the trunk give away the nature of the grain most of the time.