Author Topic: back me up on tiller... patch installed.  (Read 26382 times)

Offline echatham

Re: back me up on tiller... thats all folks... its over
« Reply #75 on: November 24, 2013, 09:17:10 am »
hmmm.... ok.  i hit it with a few sweeps of 100 grit just to see if it was just on the surface and its not.... it does catch a razor blade... but not my finger nail.  don't you think i should patch it anyway with a Torges patch just because that wood is already damaged?  i can stick it in my drying box for a couple weeks no problem,  but its already fractured so i have to deal with that right?

Offline echatham

« Reply #76 on: November 24, 2013, 09:20:39 am »
i don't have a moisture meter, but the stave sat over a year as a pretty well worked down stave, then as a floor tiller ready, roughed out bow for two weeks at 100 degrees in the hotbox,  i thought it should be dry, but guess im still learning.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #77 on: November 24, 2013, 09:25:02 am »
It may come out later, or it may not. Depends on how much it stiffens up after drying and a temper job. Those two things alone may require a fair amount of wood removal. Or, you can try a patch job now. Your call. 

Sounds like it should be dry enough to me to. Did you work right after taking it out of your bow? Has it been kept in the box between work sessions? Ive never known osage to be hyper sensitive. Its either too green or its not. 
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline echatham

« Reply #78 on: November 24, 2013, 09:31:13 am »