Author Topic: Reducing string follow  (Read 9471 times)

Offline OsageWhisper

Reducing string follow
« on: November 16, 2013, 07:53:37 pm »
I'm new to the bow building game, I have built two real nice bows out of Osage but they both developed a small bit of string follow. They both shoot great and I am not complaining one bit but I'd like to reduce the amount of string follow in my next build. Thanks all.

Offline Dazv

Re: Reducing string follow
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2013, 08:06:59 pm »
Making sure your tiller is spot on is very important for keeping string follow low. Also making sure you have the correct design for the wood is important as well.

Offline bubby

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2013, 08:22:34 pm »
How much set are we talking about, bub
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline OsageWhisper

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2013, 08:47:34 pm »
how do I measure the set ?

Offline Weylin

« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2013, 08:51:36 pm »
Set is the distance the tip has travelled toward the string from it's original position as a stave (or original recurved position). Thus a stave with two inches of reflex that ends up with 1 inch of deflex after tillering and shooting has 3 inches of set. That one inch of deflex would be described by most people as one inch of string follow but the bowyer would know it took three inches of set. you can measure the string follow by putting the back on the bow up against a flat wall or floor and measuring the distance between the tip and the surface.

Offline bushboy

« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2013, 08:52:29 pm »
put the bow on a door frame measure top ,flip 180 and thats it!
Some like motorboats,I like kayaks,some like guns,I like bows,but not the wheelie type.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #6 on: November 16, 2013, 09:16:03 pm »