Author Topic: Tiller check  (Read 1807 times)

Offline RyanR

Tiller check
« on: November 30, 2013, 03:48:39 pm »
This is my first attempt at a recurve.  It is elm  66" before I bent the tips.  You will notice the right limb in the unbraced photo has a bend in it so take that in account for the tiller.  There was a knot there.  The right limb must be the top(archers paradox). What on average is the final brace height on a bow like this (measured from throat of grip)?  I wussed out on this one and made it real wide (almost 1-3/4) inches to make sure it didn't break.  Tell me what adjustments you see that are needed.  I am going to the store for sandpaper. :D

Offline Bryce

• Global Moderator
  • Pacific Ghost Longbows
Re: Tiller check
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2013, 04:10:20 pm »
looks perfect!

Clatskanie, Oregon

Offline Badger

« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2013, 04:22:30 pm »
  Looks good, looks like it didn't take any set at all. What profile did you start with? What kind of wood is it. I wouldn't call making a bow wide enough not to take set wussing out!, thats what you are supposed to do I would think.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2013, 05:29:11 pm »
Something about the right side bugs me.......is it flat half way? Something isnt jiving on the right. Its dang close though.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline TacticalFate

« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2013, 07:15:38 pm »
looks like its bending a smidgen too much right before the left recurve

Offline dbb

« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2013, 07:20:14 pm »
Something about the right side bugs me.......is it flat half way? Something isnt jiving on the right. Its dang close though.
It might be that the right fade dont bend at all even if it looks like it does because of the deflex...
It's better to ask and look like a fool than not to ask and remain one...

Offline RyanR