Author Topic: Seasoning wood  (Read 16611 times)

Offline Badger

Re: Seasoning wood
« Reply #45 on: November 04, 2013, 06:17:35 pm »
  I actually do have a test I can perform on one of my older osage bows that have gained some weight. I can narrow them down and see if they take set. I usually keep them right on the edge of set when I am building them. If I can anrrow an older one down to drop weight with no ill results it might not be conclusive but would be another indicator.

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #46 on: November 04, 2013, 07:15:04 pm »
When I was in college, I studied the properties of materials as part of my Architectural Engineering program.  I didn't complete the program, but it was a good experience that has helped me in my woodworking.  I believe it's good to think of wood in terms of "seasoned" and "unseasoned".  I prefer seasoned wood too.  But I think the issue is stress, not age.

When dimensions are equal, wood that has been forced dried is stressed more than wood that has been dried slowly.  In other words, more can go wrong with wood when dried quickly than when dried slowly.

I find it hard to believe there has not been a scientific study into timber as it ages?

Wood is probably the most tested material we know.  Engineers have intensely studied the properties of wood for decades.  There are mountains of data.  So, what is the conclusion?  Each piece of wood needs to be evaluated on a case by case basis.  But, in general, the less stress you place on wood, the stronger it remains and the longer it lasts.  Will it increase in strength over time?  Yes, in some cases.  Will it decrease in strength over time?  Yes, in some cases.
Any critter tastes good with enough butter on it.

Patrick Blank
Midland, Texas
Youtube: JackCrafty, Allergic Hobbit, Patrick Blank

Where's Rock? Public Waterways, Road Cuts, Landscape Supply, Knap-Ins.