Author Topic: Where do I purchase laminations?  (Read 1805 times)

Offline logan6742

Where do I purchase laminations?
« on: October 25, 2013, 04:46:59 pm »
I've finally made my decision to ditch the hickory flatbow and move one. I want to make a tri-laminate english longow with some hickory, ipe , and another type of wood that I haven't exactly decided on. I've just encountered one problem, I don't know where to purchase laminations on the internet for a decent price  :(. I have already found hickory laminations on a bunch of websites because that's one of your only options for backing an english longbow besides. But I just can't find other woods I'm interested in such as maple, ipe, walnut, etc. I've already gone on 3rivers and bingham but they don't have what I'm looking for. Could someone please tell me a website where I can order some 72 inch lamiantions? Please add links if you have any suggestions. Thanks, I really apprecitate it.

Also I'm new to the whole bowyer scene so please any tips would be great.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2013, 11:05:24 am by logan6742 »

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Where to I purchase laminations?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2013, 05:40:47 pm »
Most buy boards and rip them on a table saw or bandsaw, then plane them to thickness.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline RBLusthaus

« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2013, 06:09:18 pm »
If you could find any, you could also use 36 inch parallel lams and have them meet in the middle.

Russ

Offline Mad Max

« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2013, 06:17:15 pm »
Most buy boards and rip them on a table saw or bandsaw, then plane them to thickness.
   +1
Bingham is your best choice for the cores, but they have nothing for the back or belly
I would rather fail trying to do something above my means, Than to succeed at something beneath my means.

Offline bow101