Author Topic: Leatherworking questions  (Read 3381 times)

JacksonCash

Leatherworking questions
« on: October 11, 2013, 09:48:20 am »
I've got some leather that I'm going to attempt to make a quiver from. Its a nice vegetable tanned shoulder, plenty big for what I need with a little bit of material left for testing things. This is good because I'm brand new at leather working. Anyway, onto the meat of it!

I've got some pieces that the pattern says needs to be glued together. What is a good glue to use for this? I've got some duco cement, and gorilla glue, but I'm not sure if either of those would work well.

I also need to dye the leather. Well, maybe not need but it would look a lot better. I've gotten the dye, and talked a bit with the sales folk at Tandy about how to dye, but I was wondering about the flesh side- do I dye that as well?

Offline dwardo

Re: Leatherworking questions
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2013, 10:31:46 am »
I tend to use 5 minute epoxy for glueing welts when needed.
Dye wise I use Fiebings Leather Dye. Just remember to wear gloves, trust me doesn't come off for days.  ::)

Offline RBLusthaus

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2013, 12:11:58 pm »
Just remember to wear gloves, trust me doesn't come off for days.  ::)

Listen to this - - he tells the truth -  and dont ask how we know this . . . .

JacksonCash

« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2013, 12:35:53 pm »
Don't worry, the wife has already forbade me from getting it on me or anything else. "Dire consequences" were mentioned.

Offline GlennM

« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2013, 01:52:29 pm »
I use contact cement.  Leather may be taken apart if it needs to be repositioned.

Offline bubby

« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2013, 02:40:56 pm »
I use contact cement.  Leather may be taken apart if it needs to be repositioned.

x2
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline Cameroo

• Cam's Stuff
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2013, 03:28:28 pm »