Author Topic: backing Ipe ? options?  (Read 4782 times)

Offline lostarrow

backing Ipe ? options?
« on: September 20, 2013, 11:36:18 pm »
 Recently had a very productive trip to buy some lumber . My dealer  just happened to have a clean White Ash  board with perfect grain. Will yield four staves with no waste. While looking through the dregs of Elm he had I noticed a piece of Ipe  standing in the corner. 1"x5-1/2" x 8' long . 1/4 sawn with no runoff at all :o . Crappy bit for the last 12" but he didn't charge for that. Should be able to get 4 from it as well .  I've never worked with Ipe before . I  plan on backing it  with either Hickory or Bamboo. Would  Ash, or White Oak hold up to the stress? If so , should it be thicker (3/16)? Also found 2 Water Buffalo horns for $10 each and a nice Abalone shell for $6 , in the last couple of weeks.  Now I just have to find the time to turn them into a nice ELB

Offline huisme

• I'm Marc, but not that Marc.
Re: backing Ipe ? options?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2013, 12:22:27 am »
Ash is an amazing tension wood, and makes excellent backings. I prefer it over hickory, personally.
50#@26"
Black locust. Black locust everywhere.
Mollegabets all day long.
Might as well make them short, save some wood to keep warm.

Offline adb

« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2013, 12:50:26 am »
I've used ash, hickory, maple and bamboo with ipe. All worked wonderful. No issues. Appropriate grain, of course. ELBs, warbows, and flatbows. Cameroo just made an ipe flatbow backed with white oak I think. Cam?

Offline Cameroo

• Cam's Stuff
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2013, 02:08:26 am »