Author Topic: Yew bow with no sapwood?  (Read 7567 times)

Offline Red Dwarf

Yew bow with no sapwood?
« on: December 31, 2007, 09:01:06 pm »
 I am fairly new to bow making, having only made about half a dozen board bows so far. I would like to try my hand at a yew flatbow and am wondering if it would be feasible to try one without any sapwood?
I would be trying for 45# @ 26" with n/n length of about 66"

I have some billets with 3/8 to 7/16 sapwood so would probably have to reduce the sapwood anyway.

Thanks in advance

Red Dwarf

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: Yew bow with no sapwood?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2007, 09:16:00 pm »
    It should be no problem if you back it. I've backed one with silk and one with rawhide. I would suggest backing it before you start bending it.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Loki

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2007, 10:07:24 pm »
I've just watched a Ray Mears programme which had Chris Boyton re creating a 6,000 year old Yew Bow which had no Sapwood,both of them were thinking the Bow will Blow up but it performed really well,they must of knew whjat they were doing eh?  :D.He made the Bow only using Stone tolls and it looked Great!!

I'm quirious why you would want to remove the Sapwood anyway? Yew Sapwood and Heartwood looks wonderful on a Bow.

Pax
Durham,England

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2007, 10:23:29 pm »
  Loki, The one I did was made from billets. The person that sent them to me cleaned them up on a planer to splice them. Everything was violated and no rings matched.
Lakeland, Florida

Offline deerhunter97370

« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2007, 10:26:46 pm »
In the TBB2 they talk about neolithic Yew that were found with no sapwood or backing. Some were decrowned some had ring violation.
Always be ready to: Preach, Pray, or Die. John Wesley

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker